jump to navigation

Web Content is Being Stolen for Profit November 13, 2005

Posted by jtintle in Thievery.
trackback

A service called Skweezer, which appears to be a syndication service run by Greenlight Wireless, is reproducing web pages for use on mobile phones and devices.

While that may not seem like a big deal, I never gave them permission to reproduce my content for a profit. Yes they do try to make a profit with their services. If they would have webmasters submit websites to their services that would be different. However reproducing content without the authors permission, and no reference link to the actual site is wrong in my eyes.

Another arguement is what if my sites had their own WAP enable mirrors? In other words, if my sites were accessible via a WAP browser to begin with, wouldn’t that service be taking away hits and traffic from a site I worked hard to build?

 

Orginal Source: TechNudge 

Comments

1. carbon12 - November 13, 2005

dont know what country thats from, but I thought everyone with a wap enabled phone could access any server on the internet. I know for one on my O2 phone, I can type in my servers address and have the wap pages hosted there pop up on my phone – the fact is my server is nothing special, I host it at home on a fixed ip buisness line and its not running any special software other than apache. All you need to do is learn the wap markup write the pages or script to convert your html pages into wap pages on demand and your done. No point in this new service at all, its like reinventing the wheel and charging people to use it 😐

2. Bill - November 13, 2005

It’s in the USA. And, unfortunately, you’re looking at it form a very shortighted premise. “All you need to do is learn…”

That’s why people take mass transit instead of driving everywhere. That’s why people go to the theater instead of putting on plays at home.

There are an infinite number of things that fall into the. “What if you don’t want to, can’t, or don’t have the time to?” category.

That’s how people make a profit and it’s both understandable and acceptable. The question is, should they make that profit off the fruits of someone else’s labor without the permission of or without paying compensation to the laborer?

Hopefully you’ll answer, “No.”

3. Kevin Perkins - February 27, 2006

Sorry comments are closed for this entry

